If you are scheduled for Court, please remember when attending LaSalle Municipal Court, plan to follow all of the Colorado and CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) guidelines regarding the Coronavirus (COVID-19). Please bring a face mask with you to court. You will be required to wear one in court. Due to the Nationwide shortage of PPE (personal protective equipment), the LaSalle Municipal Court will NOT be able to provide you with a mask.
If you have any questions. please contact the LaSalle Municipal Court at 970-284-6931 (When leaving a message, please be sure to list your ticket/summons number)
The Municipal Court is located in the west wing of the Town Hall. Enter through the south door facing the parking lot. The Town Hall is located one block north of the traffic light on Highway 85 on the east side of the highway.
Municipal Court regularly meets for arraignments on the 1st and 3rd Wednesday of each month beginning at 1:30 p.m.
At arraignment, the court will advise all defendants of their rights (also contained on back of summonses). After the courts advisement, the defendant will be asked to enter a plea of "guilty" or "not guilty" to the charge.
- By pleading guilty the defendant admits guilt, waives the right to trial, and the court will enter a fine amount (not to exceed $999, plus mandatory $50 surcharge for each conviction).
- By pleading not guilty, you are asking the town to prove the charge against you at a trial. Trials are normally set one month in advance.
Prior to the entry of a plea, you will have an opportunity to speak to the prosecuting attorney in an attempt to resolve your case without trial. This may include a plea bargain agreement. The defendant is never required to accept a plea bargain offer.
Payment of Fines
If you wish to pay a fine before your court date, you may do so if the summons you were issues is a penalty assessment summons. This information is provided in the lower section of the ticket when the officer issued the ticket. The "Penalty Assessment" section is completed with the amount you must pay and the amount of time you have to pay. Be advised that by paying the fine, you are pleading guilty to the charge. As a result, this is a violation of the Model Traffic Code and the conviction will be reported to the Colorado Motor Vehicle Division. Points will be assessed on your driver’s history.
If the summons states the amount for the fine and surcharge, payment in advance may be made in two ways:
- A check or money order mailed to the Town of LaSalle
- In person at Town Hall
All payments should be made to Town of LaSalle. To ensure proper credit, payment should be accompanied by the defendant’s copy of the summons.
If the summons does not state an amount for a fine, then payment in advance of court is not permitted. A court appearance by the defendant is mandatory. If you have any questions on your procedural rights, please call the Town of LaSalle.